Faculty and GSIs Recognized for Teaching Excellence

Eight faculty and five graduate student instructors received special recognition Friday for their excellent teaching abilities.

Dean Rich Lyons presented the faculty and instructors with the Earl F. Cheit Award during the school's annual End-of-Year Party, after staff, faculty, and students snacked on empanadas and burritos and sipped beverages from cups covered with stickers of the school's recently unveiled defining principles.

The Cheit Award is named after the school's dean emeritus, who made teaching excellence one of his top priorities. The winners are selected by panels of students based on student nominations.

The faculty winners this year are:

  • Professor Martin Lettau, PhD Program
  • Lecturer Peter Goodson, Evening MBA Program
  • Lecturer Frank Schultz, Undergraduate Program
  • Professor Rashi Glazer, Full-time MBA Program
  • Lecturer Suneel Udpa, Weekend MBA Program

Lecturer Steve Blank was honored with a Cheit Award at the Berkeley-Columbia Executive MBA Program commencement in February. Assistant Professor Alexei Tchistyi and Lecturer Michael Melvin received Cheit Awards at the Master's in Financial Engineering Program commencement in March.

The winners this year of the Cheit Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor awards are:

  • Loren Parker, MBA10, Undergraduate Program
  • Dominic Phillips, MBA 10, Evening & Weekend MBA Program
  • Antonio Fuentes, MBA 10, Full-Time MBA Program
  • PhD students Boris Albul and Benn Eifert, MFE Program

Dean Lyons also congratulated Marketing Professor Teck-Hua Ho for winning the Berkeley Distinguished Teaching Award, the highest honor the university bestows on faculty, and MBA Career Services Executive Director Abby Scott for winning the Chancellor's Outstanding Staff Award. Both Ho and Scott received the awards in April.