Prof. Andrew Rose named as dean of the National University of Singapore

Prof. Andrew K. RoseProf. Andrew Rose, an expert in international finance, trade, and economics who has worked with the World Bank, U.S. treasury department, and central banks in 14 countries around the world, has been appointed dean of the National University of Singapore (NUS).

Rose will be on duty at Haas through spring 2019 before taking the helm of NUS on June 1.

“I’m going to miss Berkeley—I’ve been here since before it was Haas,” said Rose, referring to the school’s name change in 1989. “But I’m looking forward to the challenge of leading a school in Asia.”

Rose, who holds Bernard T Rocca Jr. Chair of International Business & Trade in the Economic Analysis and Policy Group, has taught and conducted research at Berkeley Haas since 1986, serving as associate dean of academic affairs and chair of the faculty from 2010 to 2016.

Rose is a prolific and highly cited researcher whose work focuses on currency and exchange rates, as well as economic crises. He has collaborated with former Federal Reserve Chair and Berkeley Haas Prof. Emeritus Janet Yellen, as well as UC Berkeley Nobel Laureate George Akerlof.

A Canadian native who holds triple citizenship in his home country, the U.S., and the U.K., Rose has worked as an advisor to numerous economic agencies, including the International Monetary Fund and the Asian Development Bank. He has worked with the central banks of England, Canada, Europe, Japan, Singapore, and the U.S., among others.

He has also been a visiting scholar at a dozen schools, including NUS. He served as founding director of the NUS Risk Management Institute and worked with others to help organize the Asian Bureau of Financial and Economic Research.

At Haas, Rose formerly chaired the Economic Analysis & Policy Group and served as founding director of the Clausen Center for International Business & Policy. He has been honored for his teaching and extensive service to the school. He won the won the Cheit Award for Excellence in Teaching in 1999 and 2011 and received the Williamson Award—the school’s highest faculty honor—in 2016-2017.