Students Honor Faculty, Student Instructors with Cheit Teaching Awards

Six professors and two graduate student instructors (GSIs) will be honored at the commencements this month for their excellence in teaching.

A panel of students selected the Cheit Award recipients from student nominations. The award is named after Dean Emeritus Earl F. Cheit, who made teaching excellence one of his top priorities.

The faculty winners this year are:

  • Professor Leif Nelson, PhD Program
  • Lecturer Frank Schultz, Undergraduate Program
  • Flavio Feferman, Evening MBA Program
  • Mark Rittenberg, Weekend MBA Program
  • Toby Stuart and Rob Chandra, Entrepreneurship, Full-time MBA Program

Students also are recognizing Alexander Nezlobin and Rob Chandra with honorable mentions in the Undergraduate Program and Lucas Davis with an honorable mention in the Full-time MBA Program.

The winners of the Cheit Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor awards, also to be recognized at commencements this year, are:

  • Kylan Nieh, BS/BA 14 (Bus./Comp. Sci.), Undergraduate Program
  • Adam Chopko, MBA 14, Evening & Weekend MBA Program
  • PhD candidate Isaac Hacamo, Full-time MBA Program

Earlier this year, students in the Berkeley Master of Financial Engineering Program presented a Cheit teaching award to Yu (Ben) Meng, MFE 02, for his Risk Management course, while a graduate student instructor award was given to Te (Tony) Ke.